You Didn’t Ask, But: Locally Made Felt Toys

Portland has wonderful, wonderful toy stores that stole my imagination well before I had someone to buy toys for. My first encounter was with Fennegan’s Toy’s and Gifts when I was 13, visiting friends of yy parents. I felt too old and cool to be oohing and ahhhing over legos and play mobile, but the handmade wooden toys grabbed my attention and didn’t let go. I didn’t remembering seeing these at the mall and mega toy stores of my youth.

A few months back I was in desperate search of a toy for Ella she had fallen for at our mom’s group. A ball made up of hexagons for little fingers to grip. And after hitting near every toy store in the Portland metro area, my last stop, Kids at Heart on Hawthorne had it.

What I really wanted to buy were these adorable handmade felt toys from Pickle Things, a local crafter. Aren’t they just incredibly sweet?

20110717-041311.jpg

20110717-041448.jpg

20110717-041536.jpg

20110717-041836.jpg

If you can’t get to Portland, you can purchase these treats from the Pickle Things Etsy Shop. And if you are in Portland, here are a few of my favorite shops for tots in PDX. Tell me yours.

Finnegan’s Toy’s and Gifts
922 SW Yamhill

Kids at Heart
3445 SE Hawthorne

Black Wagon
3964 N. Mississippi

Polliwog
234 NE 28th

Astor and Bee
4819 SE Division

Leave a Reply

