Nom Nom Nom: Hoyt 23 Happy Hour Fettuccini

If we can thank the crummy economy for anything, we can thank it for better happy hour menus. 23 Hoyt isn’t a restaurant I’d normally set my with-child sights on. Entrees run pricier than Beanie’s organic baby formula, and it doesn’t appear to be the place for a 6month old who, practice makes perfect, can’t wait to ace that pterodactyl voiceover auidition. Enter the variables: Parents in town visiting (babysitters) a 4PM happy hour (early bird special). Sum: A tasty afternoon with the man at a price that won’t bankrupt the babe’s anemic college fund (Hey! it has only been 6 month, ok?)

Meet Hoyt’s House-made Fettuccini with Smoked Butternut. $5. Yes, you read correctly. FIVE BONES for toothsome pasta washed in a velvety, smoky butternut puree. I do not recommend sharing this dish. You’ll want your own, I promise.

Hoyt 23 Happy Hour is Sunday through Thursday from 4PM-6PM. Friday and Saturday 4PM-6:30PM and 9PM-Close

4 comments
  1. Yum, yum, yum!! And a great idea for a quick at-home winter pasta, too. Any recommendations for spices if making at home?

    • hmmm. The waiter told me that the chef roasts the squash over wood chips in the oven. I won’t be repeating that anytime soon, but I think smoked paprika might do the trick. I’m sure there was cream in the sauce, maybe some onion, but no herbs.

  2. Woo! Yummy and cheap pasta! That’s a steal! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’ve added yours to my Google Reader and look forward to reading your future posts!

  3. Linda W said:

    We ONLY eat out for happy hours. When the HH menus are so good and plentiful, there is no need for going for a full price meal. I’ve been to Hoyt 23 for HH plenty of times, but never had the fettucini. Looks like I’ll have to walk over there for some soon.

    The Auspicious Life

Leave a Reply

