We Must, We Must, We Must Improve our Crusts

Are you there God? It’s me, Mary. I was wondering if I could talk to you for a minute. It’s about pastry crust. I just don’t get it. All the other girls seem to get it right. They post pictures of perfectly rolled out, smooth dough. But mine, they just don’t make the cut. I mean, really, what am I doing wrong?

Then there is Dorie. She’s so perfect. I followed this week’s recipe for her Orange Almond Tart, and my crust, oh, I don’t know. Maybe I should just give up? At first the dough was too hard, then I crumbled it up and added a tablespoon of water, but then it was too soft, and completely broke apart when I put it into the tart pan.

I know what you are going to say. It’s just crust! Who cares, no one sees it, as long as it tastes good right? And yes, it always turns out fine in the end. But I want to get it right from start to finish. I guess really only you and I know the truth. At least the filling was forgiving.

15 comments
  1. One of the things I love about Dorie – she gives the option of a pressed in crust. Your finished tart looks great, I never would have guessed that you had crust issues.

    • That is true. Dorie gives way more guidance and explanation than many other cookbooks I’ve cooked out of. But crust, man, I just feel like a failure every time I make it!

  2. marsha said:

    I am sure it tasted wonderful and it looks lovely!! No one ever sees the bottom, but I do know what you mean. I have never been able to make good crust.

  3. Ronda said:

    It looks lovely to me!

  4. Your finished product looks gorgeous!!!

  5. Jen W. said:

    Tart crusts are hard. I was glad that we had the option of pressing this one in the pan. Did you use blood oranges too? I like the combination of colors!

  6. Susan said:

    Love your post! I struggle with crust, too! Maybe we’re just too hard on ourselves! But, the only way to get better is to keep at it! I think your tart is pretty – and love that you used blood oranges.

  7. Tricia said:

    Your Judy Blume references had me hysterical !! Great job on the tart and the post. Loved the photos and we loved the recipe as well. Turned out pretty forgiving, which I had not anticipated…but was always a welcome find. We’ll be repeating this one.

  8. Karen said:

    Fun post! My crusts are never beautiful either. Your finished product looks lovely though!

  9. Teresa said:

    Thanks for the Judy Blume reference – loved that! Your crust turned out beautifully in the end. I try and let go of the fussiness of rolling and laying out pastry, because so often the end product shows no sign of frustrations it caused.

  10. Cher said:

    Crusts are truly a nemesis of mine – so the pressed in version is my friend. I am slowly coming to terms with crusts (can you say two sheets of wax paper?), but we will probably never be BFF! Thanks for the smile.

  11. Krissy said:

    Wow…your finished tart looks great for all your crust issues. Maybe next time will be the charm and it will just turn out perfectly…so don’t give up!

  12. Your tart looks like it turned out great! Thank you for the kind words regarding me having a daughter in law. Its amazing what a good photographer can do! A friend took this picture in just the right light to knock off a few years:)

  13. Your opening line took me back…too funny! Hey, your crust looks just like mine usually do! I hand pressed this one and never gave it a chance to fall apart. I’m crust handicapped too! Let’s start a club. In the end, your tart looks amazing…love the multi-colored fruit!!

Leave a Reply

