Everybody Everywear: Breton Stripes.

The dozens of fashion blogs clogging up my google reader are what inspired me to be more creative with my wardrobe for 2011. Back when I was spending my days at home with a very grumpy 7 week old, I would pour over these posts, dreaming about the day when my clothes would once again fit properly and I wouldn’t need to organize my outfits around breast access. I really wanted to join Kendi’s 30 for 30 challenge, but my food blog didn’t seem like the right venue. Instead I’m excited to participate in Everybody Everywear, a collection of fashion bloggers, and the occasional food blogger, posting photos of an outfit styled around one article of clothing. FUN!

This week’s piece: Breton stripes. Every girl should have this fashion classic in their closet. Traditionally the Breton shirt is nautical in theme, boat necked with stripes starting around the collar-bone. Ella’s working on it. We found her most lady like stripes and went to town. Er, to the front stoop.

On Me

Beaded Necklace: Cost Plus World Market

Jacket: JCrew, Breton Striped Top: JCrew

Cords: JCrew (I’m seeing an unhealthy trend here), Shoes: BP

On Ella:

Upcycled Cashmere Hat: Made by a local Portland artisan, gifted

Onsie: Ralph Lauren, Gifted

Denim Skirt: Gift, Leggings: Baby Legs

Shoes: Robeez, Gifted,  Drool, model’s own.

13 comments
  1. Linda W said:

    You both look fantastic! Thanks for participating. I’m in love with that little jacket.

    Do you have a larger version of the picture? Right now it is a little too small to show up on our site. If it was the larger size, it would work. You can re-export the picture larger and re-upload it to your site, then resubmit it to EBEW.

    Or, you can leave it as is and there will be a text link to you. Whatever your prefer!

    The Auspicious Life

  2. Elissa said:

    I love World Market jewelry! I think it’s such a great little secret place to pick up a fun necklace or unique bracelet. I really like how you mixed your colorful little jacket with the Brenton striped top. And your daughter is absolutely beautiful!

    http://www.dresswithcourage.com

    • Thank you so much! Ella is so adorable. Sometimes I just stare at her in disbelief I made that!

  3. Law Mama said:

    That orange jacket is fabulous! I love it with the stripes. And your little girl is adorable, drool and all.

    • Thank you. Drool is her favorite accessory. She rocks it every day.

  4. Thanks sharing this with EBEW. I have that same jacket from J Crew {different color}. Seeing it on you is making me want to break it out.

    • I remember when I got the jacket thinking I should pick it up in another color. It was on sale and I’m kicking myself for not. It is so lovely in the gray herringbone.

  5. Katie said:

    Cutest baby award! She is ADORABLE!

    Love the way you styled your stripes… I’m a HUGE fan of orange! 🙂

    • Thanks! I love your stripes. So smart! Ella has a bunch of plain onsies that may need some sharpie attention.

  6. kelsey said:

    Lovely. The jacket is great and your little is adorable!

  7. I love it! that jacket is beautiful! But not as beautiful as your daughter!

    • Thank you! I am absolutely in love with both, the jacket and Ella.

Leave a Reply

